Tag Archives: Garifuna Collective

The Garifuna Collective Tops the November 2019 Transglobal World Music Chart

Aban from Belize-based The Garifuna Collective is the Transglobal World Music Chart’s number one album in November 2019.

The Garifuna Collective – Aban

The Garifuna Collective has performed in over 30 countries on five continents and has been part of the some of the most celebrated Belizean Garifuna albums of all time, including the critically acclaimed Wátina.

The ensemble includes seasoned musicians from across different generations.

November 2019 Chart

  1. The Garifuna Collective – Aban – Stonetree
  2. Tinariwen – Amadjar – Anti- / Wedge / PIAS
  3. Habib Koité – Kharifa – Contre-Jour
  4. Aziza Brahim – Sahari – Glitterbeat
  5. Lakou Mizik – HaitiaNola – Cumbancha
  6. Mah Damba – Hakili Kélé – Buda Musique
  7. Lajkó Félix & Vołosi – Lajkó Félix & Vołosi – Fonó
  8. Baba Zula – Derin Derin – Glitterbeat
  9. Kayhan Kalhor, Rembrandt Frerichs, Tony Overwater, Vinsent Planjer – It’s Still Autumn – Kepera
  10. Rachid Taha – Je Suis Africain – Naïve
  11. Ballaké Sissoko & Baba Sissoko – Sissoko & Sissoko – Homerecords.be
  12. Dona Onete – Rebujo – AmpliDiversão / Mais Um
  13. Otava Yo – Do You Love – ARC Music
  14. Laurie Anderson, Tenzin Choegyal, Jesse Paris Smith – Songs from the Bardo – Smithsonian Folkways
  15. Vova – Garmi Doç – Ada Müzik
  16. Cimarrón – Orinoco – Cimarrón Music
  17. V.A. – Pour Me a Grog: The Funaná Revolt in 1990s Cabo Verde – Ostinato
  18. Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and Party – Live at WOMAD 1985 – Real World
  19. Baba Sissoko – Amadran – Homerecords.be
  20. Jako el Muzikante – Ven al Luna Park – Xurxo Fernandes

More at www.transglobalwmc.com


Garifuna Collective, Uplifting Musical Traditions and Resilience

The Garifuna Collective – ABAN

The Garifuna Collective – ABAN (Stonetree Records, 2019)

The Garifuna Collective delivers an album where Garifuna musical traditions are combined with modern musical forms such as dub and subtle cutting edge electronics. The irresistible songs feature call and response choruses, delightful electric guitars and hip-shaking rhythms.

The recording features musicians from Belize and Honduras, representing different generations. The lineup includes Marcela Aranda on vocals; Desiree Diego on vocals and maracas; Mohobub Flores on vocals and turtle shells; Sheldon Petillo on vocals; Emilio Thomas on vocals; Rolando “Chichiman” Sosa on vocals and percussion; Denmark Flores on Garifuna drums; Sam Harris on electric guitar and vocals; Guayo Cedeño on electric guitar; Eli Levinson on sampling and programming; Iván Durán on electric and acoustic guitars, bass; and Al Ovando on electric guitar, bass, percussion, claps.

ABAN presents well-constructed, uplifting songs illustrating the new trends in Garifuna rooted music.