Category Archives: Awards

Cuban Documentary Film Awarded at Festival in Bahia

(Prensa Latina – Cumbancha) Havana, Cuba – The Cuban short film “El son te salio redondo,” by producer Senobio Faget (Puri), won the Tatu de oro for the best documentary film at the 30th International Film Fest of Bahia, Brazil. Recorded in natural scenarios in Old Havana, the film merges poetry, song, dance, music, fine arts, and historical renovation. It is homage from the Cuban Television to the birthplace of national poet Nicolas Guillen, born July 10, 1902, in Camagüey. Besides his poetry it also includes poems sung by Osdalgia, Jovenes clasicos del Son, and Septeto Chocolate Caliente.


Pankaj Udhas to be honored at the Bollywood Music Awards

Pankaj Udhas
Pankaj Udhas
New York, USA – Pankaj Udhas, known as The velvet voice of India, is a Ghazal Icon. He will be felicitated with the “The Special Achievement Award” of the Year” at the Bollywood Music Awards, on Saturday, Nov 1st 2003 at the Trump Taj Mahal Casino, Atlantic City, New Jersey. He will be honored for his popularizing ghazals in India and outside India where people don’t understand the language, breaking all the language barriers. Additionally, for bringing all the NRI’s closer to their homes and motherland with mega hit songs like “Chithi AYee Hai”.

Pankaj Udhas, a singer for the masses and classes has performed for many charities and firmly believes in promoting Indian art and culture. He is known in the western world as the “True Cultural Ambassador” of India. Pankaj Udhas has been associated with Cancer patients Aid Association which was established in 70’s where he is involved in rehabilitating and treating cancer patients. He has raised money through his concerts and helped them to raise over 20 million Indian Rupees. He is also the president is Parents Thallasemic Unit trust involved in the treatment of the most dreaded genetic blood disorder called Thallasemia. And he has started Khazana a festival of ghazals in aid of these
two organizations.

Pankaj Udhas has accomplished much at his youthful age. Already known as an international Ghazal icon, Pankaj Udhas’s groundbreaking influence on music can be seen worldwide.  Due to his cross-cultural appeal and wholesome persona, Pankaj Udhas appeals to everyone from children to grandparents, professional women and men to young children trying to find their path in life.

Kamal Dandona, founder of the Bollywood Music Awards, said “Pankaj Udhas was among the first ghazal singers to gain widespread acceptance and fame, and thereby paved the way for men and women of all ethnic and cultural backgrounds to enter the Music world. 

Pankaj is a symbol of ghazal music and his music career has enveloped the globe and therefore, is most deserving of the International Special Award.  He is at the pinnacle of the music world and we
are thrilled that he is going to be a part of the Bollywood Music Awards

The Bollywood Music Awards, an event of international stature, will honor the outstanding achievements of Indian music makers and artists during the prior year.


WOMEX Award 2003 Goes to Freemuse

womex-250Berlin, Germany – The 2003 WOMEX Award goes to the human rights organization FREEMUSE for its fight against music censorship.

For the fifth time the WOMEX Award is honoring outstanding contributions in the field of world music. Freemuse was founded in 1998 and is dedicated to uphold the United Nations Universal Charter of Human Rights by funding reports, creating a database of information and taking up the causes of individual musicians in trouble with their governments or other groups. For more information about their work go to

When organizing yourtravel schedule, don’t miss out the WOMEX Award Celebration on Sunday at 14:00 h with the final showcases Amal Murkus and Marcel Khalife. Check the WOMEX website at Awards for more information on the WOMEX Award including last years’ winners.


Bebo Valdes Receives Award Granted at San Sebastian Jazz Festival

Bebo Valdés
Bebo Valdés
San Sebastian, Spain – Pianist Bebo Valdés received the Donostia Award of Jazzaldia, at the 38 edition of San Sebastian Jazz Festival, classified by him as the “best in the world.” Valdés received the award from San Sebastian city mayor Odón Elorza, at the City Hall of the Basque city, with the presence of Spanish flamenco singer Diego el Cigala, with whom Valdés performed in the Festival.

Nearly 85 years old and dressed with an elegant blue suit, Bebo explained that in 1963 he had to “decide between love and art” and chose the first, getting married in Stockholm, where he stayed to live, which is why he lived for more than 30 years in anonymity until Fernando Trueba rescued him. Bebo did not want to miss the chance to praise his son Chucho’s qualities, who he called superior to him concerning musical taste and “absolute ear”, although Chucho only modestly replied that he is nothing but “his follower, his sequel.” Father and son also paid homage to two great figures of Cuban music recently deceased, Compay Segundo and Celia Cruz, whose heritage, they stated, “will remain forever.”


Hassan Hakmoun’s The Gift Wins Indie Award

Hassan Hakmoun - The Gift
Hassan Hakmoun – The Gift
Los Angeles, USA – Hassan Hakmoun’s latest album, The Gift, received the Association for Independent Music (AFIM) Indie Award for Best Contemporary World Music Recording this past Tuesday at the Annual Awards Luncheon in Orlando, Florida.

The Gift (Triloka 85228) teams Moroccan musician Hakmoun with American-born producer Fabian Alsultany. The two have tackled the landmark task of bridging Moroccan Gnawa sounds with Arabic music while maintaining a forward-looking sound. Alsultany recruited over a hundred musicians to fill out the sound with strings as is common in popular Arabic music.


Cachao Receives a Star

Hollywood, USA – Cuban bass player Israel “Cachao” Lopez has been praised for his musical contributions with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame in Los Angeles, California. The 84-year-old musician is best known as one of the creators of the mambo.

Lopez’s star ceremony was celebrated in front of the King King nightclub on March 14, 2003. Cachao’s star will be the 2,219th star on the reputed Walk of Fame.Attending the ceremony were actors Andy Garcia, who produced and directed a documentary on Lopez in 1993 and Edward James Olmos.

In 1939, Cachao along with his brother, Orestes Lopez, developed the mambo. The popularity of the mambo reached its heights during the 1950s with help from bandleader Damaso Perez Prado.

Since then, Lopez has been the recipient of Grammy Awards and international acclaim.