Markku Lepisto and Idan Raichel World Music Winners of the IAP’s Best CD of the Year Awards

The Indie Acoustic Project announced the winners of the IAP’s "Best CDs of 2006" Awards. The winners in each of 15 categories were selected from among the 3 finalists in each category. It is the position of the IAP that all of the 45 CDs selected as finalists were in fact the 45 Best CDs of 2006.
 WINNERS: The artist’s name is first, followed by the CD title in italics, followed by the name of the record label in parenthesis:Acoustic Ensemble: Wailin Jennys Firecracker (Redhouse)


Alt Country: Sean Watkins Blinders On (Sugar Hill)

Alt Rock: Anthill Waiting for the Sun (Self-Produced)

Americana: Michelle Malone Sugarfoot (SBS/Valley)

Celtic: Cara Dillon After the Morning (Compass)

Instrumental: David Grisman Dawg’s Groove (Acoustic Disc)

Latin: Lara & Reyes Lara & Reyes (Self-Produced)

Best Lyrics: Catie Curtis Long Night Moon (Compass)

Multi-Genre: Sarah Metzner Daybreak Mourning (Dog My Cat)

Rock: The Bittersweets The Life You Always Wanted (Virt)

Roots: Jim Van Cleve No Apologies (Rural Rhythm)

Songwriter—Female: Beth Waters This Little Piggy (Mermaid Mafia).

Songwriter—Male: Chuck Pyle True Unity (Zen Cowboy).

World Music-Africa: Idan Raichel The Idan Raichel Project (Putumayo)

World Music-Eurasia & Global Beat: Markku Lepisto Polku (Aito).

The Indie Acoustic Project is dedicated to giving recognition to outstanding works of innovative acoustic (or mainly acoustic) music. The IAP website at also features information on the annual Best CDs of the Year awards, and the 50 Best Indie Acoustic CDs of the 1990s.

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central