Cesar Portillo and Silvio Rodriguez: Cuban Music Awards

(Prensa Latina) Havana, Cuba – Cuba´s National Music Award was granted in Havana to Cuban singer-songwriters Cesar Portillo de la Luz and Silvio Rodriguez, famous for their works of great international repercussion. Both shared the award with pianist Jorge Luis Prats, poet and improviser Adolfo (Alfonso) Fernández, and composer and conductor Alfredo Diez Nieto. While making the announcement, the jury’s president, musicologist Harold Gramatges (Tomas Luis de Victoria Award laureate in 1996) stated the list
included 10 nominees this year, although he did not mention names.
The award, granted for fourth time, acknowledge a wide range of Cuban music
heritage, from Nueva Trova (New Song) up to Cuban country and classical
music, including Feeling and an eternal genre: bolero.

Musicians such as
, Leo Brouwer, Juan Formell, Richard Egues,
Esther Borja, Luis Carbonell, Celina González and Lázaro Ross, including
other prestigious artists, have previously received it.