International Songwriting Competition World Music Finalists Announced

ISCLogo_BlueThe International Songwriting Competition (ISC) has announced the finalists for finalists for 2013. ISC awards excellence in the field of songwriting. Representing a broad variety of musical genres, finalists were selected from 124 countries worldwide.

Winners will be announced at the end of April, 2014. Prizes include over $150,000 in cash, merchandise, and services (including a Grand Prize of $25,000 cash and $40,000 in additional prizes). ISC is open to amateur and professional songwriters from all over the world, including bands and solo performers. Winners are selected by a panel of high-profile recording artists and music industry executives.

World Music Finalists

African Shaker Jam – Alex Kajumulo (Muleba, Tanzania)

Alabe – Pedro Logan (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

Awusiwana – Albino Mbie (Maputo, Mozambique)

Brahmskovskaya – Jost Knapp (Gimpelakwa) (Leipzig, Germany)

Fire – Gustav Rasmussen, Michael Blicher (The KutiMangoes) (Copenhagen, Denmark)

Kuimba – Richard Gannaway, Miriam Stockley, Jay Oliver (AOMUSIC) (Asheville, NC, USA)

Newborn – Iqram Magdon-Ismail (Iqram) (Harare, Zimbabwe)

Price Of Everything – Meta Dia (Meta & The Cornerstones) (New York, NY, USA)

Sitti (Granny) – The Chehade Brothers, Elia Azzar, Michel Elefteriades (The Chehade Brothers) (Beirut, Lebanon)

Sukuma Wiki – Annette Oduor (AnnieSoul) (Nairobi, Kenya)

Temptament – Hyenik, Chiasmatic (Vsetin, Czech Republic)

Tirpini- Alise Ketnere (Fox Lima) (Ogre, Latvia)

Village In Me – Andrew McPherson, Jah Youssouf (Eccodek) (Guelph, ON, Canada)

To view the complete list, go to

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *