A Global Journey from Toronto

Vince Maccarone and Los Variants – O Passeio

Vince Maccarone and Los Variants – O Passeio (2018)

Canadian drummer and composer Vince Maccarone joins some of Canada’s finest musicians on O Passeio. The album is a fascinating and groovalicious rhythmic ride through Afrobeat, reggae, Indian music, Afro-Latin, Middle Eastern, Argentine, flamenco and jazz traditions.

Personnel: Vince Maccarone on drums and percussion; Justin gray on bass and bass veena; Michael Occhipinti on guitar; Kevin Turcotte on trumpet; Tico Souza on organ; Luis Orbegoso on percussion; Kobe Aquaa-Harrison on vocals; Paul Metcalfe on saxophones; Todd Pentney on keyboards; Mario marques on drums; Nick Korneluk on piano and synthesizers; Ana Lia Arias Garrido on vocals; Benjamin Barille on guitar; Louis Simao on accordion; Ravi Naimpally on tabla; Liv Johnson on vocals; Mariem Hussan Tollar on vocals; Ernie Tollar on reeds and flutes; Waleed Abdulhamid on percussion; Patrick O’Reilly on guitars; Sean O’Conner on tenor saxophone; Brian O’Kane on trumpet; Dominic Mancuso on vocals and acoustic guitar; Natalie C. Morris on vocals; Markus Moses Jackman on vocals; Fernando Gallego Torres on vocals and palmas; Yogwon Cho on acoustic bass; Bartek Milczarczyk on nylon string guitar; Paul Ormandy on percussion; and Spencer Murray on flute.

Author: Angel Romero

Angel Romero y Ruiz has been writing about world music music for many years. He founded the websites worldmusiccentral.org and musicasdelmundo.com. Angel produced several TV specials for Metropolis (TVE) and co-produced “Musica NA”, a music show for Televisión Española (TVE) in Spain that featured an eclectic mix of world music, fusion, electronica, new age and contemporary classical music. Angel also produced and remastered world music albums, compilations and boxed sets for Alula Records, Ellipsis Arts, Music of the World.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

nineteen + nineteen =