Strut to Release Nigeria 70 No Wahala: Highlife, Afro-Funk & JuJu 1973-1987 Compilation

Various Artists – No Wahala: Highlife, Afro-Funk & JuJu 1973-1987

Strut Records will release another volume of its Nigeria 70 series titled No Wahala: Highlife, Afro-Funk & JuJu 1973-1987 on March 29, 2019. Compiled by DJ Duncan Brooker, this collection returns to a highly productive era in Nigerian music when well-known styles like highlife and juju were combined with Western jazz, soul and funk, and musicians conveyed a proud new message post-independence.

The producer highlights the extraordinary Ukwuani musicians from the Delta State region, including guitarist Rogana Ottah, Steady Arobby’s International Brothers Band and Don Bruce.

In addition, No Wahala: Highlife, Afro-Funk & JuJu 1973-1987 reveals the tight connection between Nigeria and Benin’s music, most prominently through Sir Victor Uwaifo and Osayamore Joseph.

Other artists Prince Nico Mbarga, the Nigerian-Cameroonian star; reggae singer Felixson Ngasia; Etubom Rex Williams;  and Jacob Lee’s Saxon Lee & The Shadows International Band.

Nigeria 70: No Wahala will be available on CD, 2LP and digital.

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × two =