Artist Profiles: Knut Buen

Knut Buen

Knut Buen, born in 1948, is one of Norway’s most outstanding Hardanger fiddle players. He has composed many new dance tunes and been instrumental in introducing the into contexts. Buen’s artistry achieves its peak of expression when he plays dance tunes, where he is inspired by the interplay between player and dancer.

Under his record label, Buen Kulturverkstad, he has been responsible for releasing over 100 recordings of and books on Norwegian folk music. Among these are recordings in the traditions of Myllarguten, Mosafinn and Fykerud.

He manages the concert hall Tuddal Amfi and the Tonehallen exhibition hall, located in his home town of Tuddal in Telemark. He also does folk art and paints in the rosemaling style.

Buen Kulturverkstad has one of the largest collections recorded folklore and folk music in Norway. Buen received numerous honors, including first prize at National Contest for Traditional 1983 1986, a lifetime grant from Norwegian Government, Royal Order St. Olav, Knight Class, 1999.


* Bjarnekvad og Knuteslåttar, with B. Øverbø (Buen Kulturverkstad MC 10, 1976)
* Sebyggje og teledøl, with Torleiv H. Bjørgum (Buen Kulturverkstad MC 007, 1979)
* Telemarkspel (Buen Kulturverkstad MC 11, 1981)
* Slåttesull og Fanitull (Buen Kulturverkstad KBMC 1, 1986)
* Imellom fjelli blå, with Bjarne Øverbø (Buen Kulturverkstad (MC) RUPE 02, 1983)
* Nordafjølls, with Agnes Buen Garnås (Buen Kulturverkstad (MC) RUPE 03, 1983)
* Jul med Rupesekken (Buen Kulturverkstad (MC) RUPE 7, 1095)
* På orgel og hardingfele, with Kåre Nordstoga (Buen Kulturverkstad (MC) BKMC 1, 1985)
* På gamle tufter. with S. Bratland, K. Nordstoga, G. Guttormsen, A. Buen Garnås, H. Håkanes, W. Carlstrøm and F. Kvalem ( Buen Kulturverkstad (MC) BKMC 2, 1985)
* Stem våre understrengjer, with Agnes Buen Garnås, Kåre Nordstoga, Erik Stenstadvold and Guttorm Guttormsen (Buen Kulturverkstad (MC) BKMC 22, 1988)
* Grieg Slåtter Op.72 with Einar Steen Nøkleberg (Simax Classics PSC 1040, 1988)
* Spel til dans 2 (Buen Kulturverkstad (MC) BKMC 30, 1989)
* Spel til dans 4 (Buen Kulturverkstad (MC) BKMC 32, 1989)
* Det spelar og syng i familien Buen (Buen Kulturverkstad (MC) BKMC 44a, 1991)
* Myllarfela, with Hauk Buen (Buen Kulturverkstad (MC) BKMC 41, 1991)
* Myllargutens minne, with Hauk Buen (Buen Kulturverkstad BKCD 2, 1992)
* Håvards draum (Buen Kulturverkstad BKCD 3, 1992)
* Fykerud’n (Buen Kulturverkstad BKCD 4, 1992)
* Høyversdagen (Buen Kulturverkstad (MC) BKMC 55, 1992)
* Bjølleslåtten, with Leif Rygg and Kåre Nordstoga (Buen Kulturverkstad BKCD 6, 1994)
* Attersyn (Buen Kulturverkstad BKCD 11, 1995) Samspel (Buen Kulturverkstad BKCD 12, 1995)
* Spel til dans (Buen Kulturverkstad BKCD 10, 1995)
* Stev og slått, with Agnes Buen Garnås (Buen Kulturverkstad BKCD 15, 1996)
* Huldrejenta (Sogespel 1) (Buen Kulturverkstad BKCD 17, 1996)
* Myllarfyken (Nottespel 1) (Buen Kulturverkstad BKCD 18, 1996)
* Langt inn i hugheimen, with Knut A.U. Snøås (BKCD 19, 1996) Fjelltrampen (Nottespel 2) (Buen Kulturverkstad BKCD 20, 1997)
* Ljos og skugge/Slått og Raga, with Guttorm Guttormsen and Shri Lal Sahajpal (Buen Kulturverkstad BKCD 21, 1997)
* Der og da (There and Then) (Buen Kulturverkstad BKCD 23, 1999)
* Spelemannsprøva, recordings from 1965 to 1976 (2001)
* Myllargutens draum, draumen om det store spelet, recordings from 1972-1997 (2001)
* Hjartekvad, text and tone poems (2005)
* Hardingrock – Grimen, with Vegard Sverre Tveitan and Heidi Solberg Tveitan (2007)

Author: Angel Romero

Angel Romero y Ruiz has been writing about world music music for many years. He founded the websites and Angel produced several TV specials for Metropolis (TVE) and co-produced “Musica NA”, a music show for Televisión Española (TVE) in Spain that featured an eclectic mix of world music, fusion, electronica, new age and contemporary classical music. Angel also produced and remastered world music albums, compilations and boxed sets for Alula Records, Ellipsis Arts, Music of the World.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *