Artist Profiles: Jose Antonio Rodríguez

Jose Antonio Rodríguez

Jose Antonio Rodríguez was born in Córdoba on March 28th, 1964. In 1981 he won the First Prize for Flamenco Guitar Concert, at the XXI Festival de Cante de las Minas de la Unión.

In 1982 Rodriguez won First Prize for Flamenco Guitar Concert at the XI National Contest of Flamenco Guitar in Jerez de la Frontera.

In 1984 he obtained the Official title of Flamenco Guitar teacher at the High Conservatory of Music in Córdoba. At the age of 20, he was the youngest guitar teacher of flamenco.

1986 – National Prize “Ramón Montoya” for Flamenco Guitar Concert at the XI National Contest of Flamenco Art in Córdoba. The same year he was elected member of Fundación Societat i Cultura “Live Music now” as a guitar player. His premiere in Madrid, at Centro Cultural de la Villa, was a great success, where many influenwriters, musciians and actors were present.

1987 – Premiere of his work “Guajira Para Guitarra Flamenca y Orquesta” within the extraordinary concerts on the occasion of “Andalucía Day”.

1988 – Intensive period of concerts in Europe and America. That same year he composed the music for the work “Tiempo De Amor y Muerte” for its premiere in Sevilla, with choreography of Mario Maya. He has two solo CDs interpreting his own compositions, “Calahorra” and “Callejon De Las Flores”. Some of his compositions are included in CDs released in Europe, such as his “Valls Flamenco” released by Ex Libris Digital Recording.

1990 – Premiere of his ambitious concert for flamenco guitar “Viento De Libertad”, that featured orchestral arrangements by Joan Albert Amargós.

1992 – The Bienal de Arte Flamenco “Ciudad de Sevilla” asked him to arrange the composition, orchestration and musical management of the show “Tango”. He took part in the recording of “Sevilla Es Asi” for the inauguration of EXPO 92 in Sevilla.

1993 – He took part in the soundtrack of the film “La Lola Se Va A Los Puertos”, starring Rocío Jurado.

1994 – He composed “Requiem”, together with Joan Albert Amargós and choreography by Mario Maya, for the world premiere of the Compañía Andaluza De Danza. He also participated in the performance of the show “A Oscuras” together with Enrique Morente and Esperanza Fernández.

1995 – He toured with the Cultural Series “Conocer el Flamenco” along with Manolo Sanlúcar.

He took part in the “Flamenco” film by Carlos Saura. He also participated in the new mixing of the recording “Nochebuena Gitana” accompanying Camarón and Paco de Lucía.

He composed the original music of the work “Retratos En La Memoria” with choreography of Ramón Oller, whose premiere was at the Festival Internacional de Danza in Sevilla.

1996 – Premiere of the new orchestration of “Viento De Libertad” conducted by Joan Albert Amargós.

1997 – He composed the work “El Jaleo” by request of Centro Andaluz De Danza with choreography by María Pages and Fernando Romero.

1998 – Premiere of his recording work “Manhattan De La Frontera” at Bienal De Arte Flamenco De Sevilla.

In 2016 he released an independently produced album titled Adiós Muchachos (2016). It features many guests, including one track where he invited some of the finest guitarists in Spain.


* Calahorra (1984)
* Callejón De Las Flores (1988)
* Manhattan De La Frontera (1999)
* La Leyenda (2003)
* Córdoba… en el tiempo (2007)
* Anartista (2012)
* Adios Muchachos (2016)

web sites:

Author: Angel Romero

Angel Romero y Ruiz has been writing about world music and progressive music for many years. He founded the websites and Angel produced several specials for Metropolis (TVE) and co-produced “Musica NA”, a music show for Televisión Española (TVE) in Spain that featured an eclectic mix of world music, fusion, electronica, new age and contemporary classical music. Angel also produced and remastered world music and electronic music albums, compilations and boxed sets for Alula Records, Ellipsis Arts, Music of the World, Lektronic Soundscapes, and Mindchild Records. Angel is currently based in Durham, North Carolina.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

five × four =