fRoots Announces Winners of Critics Poll Albums Of 2013

Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita - Clychau Dibon
Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita – Clychau Dibon
Folk, roots and world music magazine fRoots announced today the winners of the 28th annual fRoots Critics Poll for Albums of the Year which were revealed last night on BBC Radio 3’s World On 3.

The poll is divided into three categories. The main award is the Album Of 2013, which was awarded to Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita for their debut CD Clychau Dibon (Astar/ Mwldan). They will be presented with their award at fRoots’ 35th Anniversary Year Bridges concert at London’s Queen Elizabeth Hall on Friday, March 14th, 2014.

The best Re-issue/ Compilation/ Historic Album Of 2013 was adjudicated to The Young Tradition Oberlin 1968 (Fledg’ling).

Fledg’ling Records also prevailed in the Best Packaged Album Of 2013 with the book/CD set Lal Waterson’s Teach Me To Be A Summer’s Morning.

fRoots Editor Ian Anderson also announced his personal selection from small, independent label releases for his Editor’s Choice Album Of The Year, this year giving it to Three Cane Whale’s Holts And Hovers (own label).

fRoots magazine polls experts in the UK and abroad to decide the Album Of The Year in folk, roots & world music. With over 300 writers, broadcasters and activists worldwide invited to vote, it is one of the most respected annual polls in this musical field.

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *