Scottish drummer Iain Copeland to Release A Northerly Land

Iain Copeland - A Northerly Land
Iain Copeland – A Northerly Land
Scottish drummer, producer, and composer Iain Copeland (Peatbog Faeries / Session A9 / Sketch) will release his first solo album A Northerly Land (Skye Records) on December 2, 2013. A Northerly Land fuses ancient traditions, electronica, live instrumentation and contemporary poetry.

Created during Iain Copeland’s year-long artist’s residency in the furthest North-West corner of mainland Scotland, it draws deeply on the history and lore of the region, known as Mackay Country, after its ancient ruling clan. Copeland add his own cosmopolitan musical influences, from a career now spanning over 20 years.

The residency is part of an innovative local history project. A Northerly Land reacts to the themes of this wider initiative: earlier generations’ experiences of their schooldays; and the causes and effects of inward migration, while reflecting Copeland’s personal artistic odyssey during the year, which included building fresh connections with the area’s Traveller community, an ancient living culture ‘discovered’ in the 1950s by iconic folklorist Hamish Henderson.

The album includes saxophonist Nigel Hitchcock, guitarist Malcolm Macfarlane, trombonist Rick Taylor, Gaelic singer Fiona J. Mackenzie and poet George Gunn.

Buy A Northerly Land

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *