Special 35th Anniversary Deluxe Edition of Bob Marley’s Reggae Classic ‘Kaya’

Bob Marley & The Wailers - Kaya: 35th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
Bob Marley & The Wailers – Kaya: 35th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
This year marks the 35th anniversary of Bob Marley & The Wailers’ memorable 1978 reggae album, Kaya. To commemorate, Universal Music Enterprises will release Kaya: 35th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (Island/Tuff Gong/UMe) on April 23, 2013. This is an expanded, two-CD collection featuring 24 remastered tracks.

Kaya: 35th Anniversary Deluxe Edition includes the original 10-song album as well as the B-side “Smile Jamaica.” This song was originally released as the B-side to “Satisfy My Soul” and was written for the people of Jamaica after the assassination attempt on Marley’s life at the Smile Jamaica unity concert in 1976.

Another bonus is a second disc with the highly coveted, unreleased live show, “Live at Ahoy Hallen,” recorded in Rotterdam, Netherlands, on July 7, 1978. It had originally been planned to be released with the Babylon By Bus album but was never released. The Wailers were in top form that night, with superb performances of “Is This Love” and “Easy Skanking” from the recently released Kaya, plus some of Marley’s most beloved songs including “Concrete Jungle,” “No Woman No Cry” “War/No More Trouble,” “Jamming,” “I Shot The Sheriff,” “Get Up, Stand Up,” and the closing track “Exodus,” all leaving the packed house in a frenzy.

A 35th Anniversary reissue of Kaya on audiophile 180Gram virgin vinyl will also be available on April 30th which features the “Smile Jamaica” single for the first time on vinyl.

On earlier recordings, Bob Marley took a more political position. Kaya took a lighter attitude, focusing on the pursuit of inner peace, love and romance. “When you expose a situation, you don’t need to expose it again. It’s exposed already,” Marley said. “To sing about suffering all the time is not a deep thing. We want our people to live good. We don’t want to encourage suffering. We want our people to live the way they want to live. We have to stop the suffering.”

The collection is packaged with the original artwork and includes a 23-page booklet that contains lyrics, rare photos, plus extensive liner notes.

Bob Marley was the first Jamaican artist to gain worldwide celebrity. He was a musical, political and even spiritual icon, who made reggae popular worldwide. He remains one of the most important and influential artists of the 20th century. In the digital era, Marley has the second-highest social media following of any posthumous celebrity, with the official Bob Marley Facebook page having over 42 million fans, ranking it among the Top 25 of all Facebook pages and Top 10 among celebrity pages. His music catalog has sold more than 50 million albums worldwide since 1992 and his accolades continue, including an induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame (1994), a GRAMMY Lifetime Achievement Award (2001), multiple entries in the GRAMMY Hall Of Fame and a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame (2001).

Track Listing:

Disc 1

1. Easy Skanking

2. Kaya

3. Is This Love

4. Sun Is Shining

5. Satisfy My Soul

6. She’s Gone

7. Misty Morning

8. Crisis

9. Running Away

10. Time Will Tell

11. Smile Jamaica (bonus track) *available for the very first time on vinyl.

Disc 2 – Live at Ahoy Hallen, Rotterdam, Netherlands July 7, 1978

1. Positive Vibration

2. The Heathen

3. Them Belly Full (But We Hungry)

4. Concrete Jungle

5. Rebel Music (3 O’ Clock Road Block)

6. War/No More Trouble

7. I Shot The Sheriff

8. No Woman No Cry

9. Is This Love

10. Jamming

11. Easy Skanking

12. Get Up, Stand Up

13. Exodus

Buy Kaya: 35th Anniversary Deluxe Edition

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central


One thought on “Special 35th Anniversary Deluxe Edition of Bob Marley’s Reggae Classic ‘Kaya’”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *