The Land That Is Not

Sinikka Langeland - The Land That Is Not
Sinikka Langeland

The Land That Is Not (ECM, 2011)

Sinikka Langeland is a singer, composer and kantele player from Norway. In recent years she has been exploring the boundaries between folk music and contemporary jazz. The Land That Is Not is the sequel to her previous ECM album titled Starflowers.

The Land That Is Not combines Langeland’s marvelous voice with Scandinavian poetry and the spatial chamber jazz that ECM is well known for. Sinikka Langeland provides vocals and plays kantele. She is joined by an excellent group of jazz musicians that includes Arve Henriksen on trumpet; Trygve Seim on soprano and tenor saxophones; Anders Jormin on double bass; and Markku Ounaskari on drums.

On this new recording, Langeland uses the poetry of Edith Södergran (1892-1923) and Olav Håkonson Hauge (1908-1994). The two poets now count as forerunners of literary modernism in Sweden and Norway. Södergran was a Swedish-speaking poet in Raivola, near St Petersburg. She is regarded as one of the pioneers of modernist Swedish poetry. Olav Håkonson Hauge was an influential Norwegian poet who wrote modernist poetry.

The CD booklet features lyrics in Swedish and Norwegian with English translations.

The Land That Is Not is a remarkable exploratory album that brings together one of the finest folk singers from Norway and a superb group of contemporary jazz musicians.

Author: Angel Romero

Angel Romero y Ruiz has been writing about world music music for many years. He founded the websites and Angel produced several TV specials for Metropolis (TVE) and co-produced “Musica NA”, a music show for Televisión Española (TVE) in Spain that featured an eclectic mix of world music, fusion, electronica, new age and contemporary classical music. Angel also produced and remastered world music albums, compilations and boxed sets for Alula Records, Ellipsis Arts, Music of the World.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *