fRoots Critics Poll Albums Of The Year 2011 Winners Announced

June Tabor & Oysterband - Ragged Kingdom
BBC Radio 3’s World On 3 announced this evening the winners of the fRoots Critics Poll Albums Of 2011.
The winners are:

Album of 2011

June Tabor & Oysterband – Ragged Kingdom (Topic)

Reissue / Compilation

Hedy West – Ballads And Songs From The Appalachians (Fellside)

Best Packaged Album

Various Artists: Opika Pende – Africa At 78rpm (Dust-To-Digital)

The detailed results will be available tomorrow on the fRoots web site at and in the January/February double issue of fRoots, street date 15th December.

Every year since 1986, fRoots magazine has polled experts in the UK and abroad to decide the Album Of The Year in folk, roots & world music. With over 300 writers, broadcasters and activists worldwide invited to vote, it is the most extensively researched and prestigious annual poll of its kind, the de facto flagship industry awards, with Amazon UK as retail partner. All the winners to date can be found at

Author: Angel Romero

Angel Romero y Ruiz has been writing about world music music for many years. He founded the websites and Angel produced several TV specials for Metropolis (TVE) and co-produced “Musica NA”, a music show for Televisión Española (TVE) in Spain that featured an eclectic mix of world music, fusion, electronica, new age and contemporary classical music. Angel also produced and remastered world music albums, compilations and boxed sets for Alula Records, Ellipsis Arts, Music of the World.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *