The Latin Recording Academy Announces 2011 Lifetime Achievement Awards

Ruben Rada
The Latin Recording Academy announced this week that the late Joe Arroyo (who died this week), Gal Costa, José Feliciano, Alex Lora, Les Luthiers, Rubén Rada, and Linda Ronstadt will be honored with The Latin Recording Academy’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Manuel Alejandro, Jesus “Chucho” Ferrer and Ray Santos are the recipients of the prestigious Trustees Award.

These honorees will be acknowledged at a special invitation-only ceremony on Wednesday, Nov. 9, 2011, at the Four Seasons Hotel Las Vegas as part of the weeklong Latin GRAMMY Awards celebration.

This year’s group of accomplished honorees are as diverse as they are influential as creators of the most renowned and prominent recordings from across the globe,” said Gabriel Abaroa Jr., President/CEO of The Latin Recording Academy. “We are privileged and honored to recognize and celebrate the contributions of these true icons to the world of Latin music at our annual ceremony, which has grown to be such an emotional and beautiful event. Their legacies have affected multiple generations and will continue to influence musicians and music fans for years to come.”

Lifetime Achievement Awards: This Special Award is presented by vote of The Latin Recording Academy’s Trustees to performers who have made creative contributions of outstanding artistic significance to the field of recording during their careers.

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *