Stirring Afrobeat Celebration

Femi Kuti - Africa for Africa
Femi Kuti

Africa for Africa (Knitting Factory Records KFR1113CD, 2011)

With Africa for Africa , Nigerian Afrobeat star Femi Kuti shows us why he is one of the undisputed kings of the genre. The son of legendary Fela Kuti, Femi continues the striking tradition of fiery brass, irresistible rhythms and politically committed lyrics with his band called The Positive Force.

Femi Kuti’s lyrics encourage the empowerment of African people, calls for an end to corruption, directly addresses individual rulers and makes a case for a better economic future for the peoples of Africa.

The recording itself is a very interesting story. Femi wanted to go back to his roots. Rather than record in a state of the art studio in Europe or the U.S., he chose the legendary Afrodisia/Decca Studio in Lagos, Nigeria. His friend Sodi joined him to record and produce the album.

Decca was the famous recording ground where some of the finest Nigerian recordings of the 1970s were made including some by Fela Kuti. Despite the outdated technical equipment of the old studio, the idea was to keep the music in its purest form, without the usual slick studio polish.

The line-up on Africa for Africa includes Femi Anikulapo-Kuti on vocals, saxophones, organ and trumpet; Opeyemi Awomolo on guitar ; Dotun Bankole on tenor saxophone ; Daniel Bankole on baritone saxophone ; Seye Adewunmi, Olusola Alobalorun on trumpet ; Tiwalade Ogunlowo on trombone ; Oluwaseun Ajayi on keyboards ; Adebowale Oloko-Obi on drums ; Akin Akinboro, Adekunle Osunniran on percussion ; Bose Ajila, Onome Kate-Udi, Anthonia Bernards on background vocals.

Africa for Africa is a stirring Afrobeat celebration by one of the most influential forces in contemporary African music.

Track listing

1. Dem Bobo
2. Nobody Beg You
3. Politics In Africa
4. Bad Government
5. Can’t Buy Me
6. Africa For Africa
7. Make We Remember
8. Obasanjo Don Play You Wayo
9. Boys Dey Hungry For Town
10. Now You See
11. No Blame Them
12. Yeparipa
13. E No Good
14. It Don’t Mean

Buy the album or MP3 downloads:

Author: Angel Romero

Angel Romero y Ruiz has been writing about world music music for many years. He founded the websites and Angel produced several TV specials for Metropolis (TVE) and co-produced “Musica NA”, a music show for Televisión Española (TVE) in Spain that featured an eclectic mix of world music, fusion, electronica, new age and contemporary classical music. Angel also produced and remastered world music albums, compilations and boxed sets for Alula Records, Ellipsis Arts, Music of the World.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *