Woody Guthrie Live Recording to Be Released April 19 on Rounder Records

Woody Guthrie - The Live Wire
Rounder Records announced the re-release of The Live Wire – Woody Guthrie’s only known live recording – on April 19. The Live Wire is one of the most significant recent finds in folk music history. The 2008 Grammy winner for Best Historical Recording will be available solely on CD for the first time and features a PDF of the book with which this recording was first packaged.

In 2001, The Woody Guthrie Archives received 2 spools of wire recordings from a live Woody Guthrie performance held in Newark, New Jersey in 1949. With the help of many talented recording engineers, the Woody Guthrie Foundation transferred this rare live performance from a delicate wire recording to digital audio, and, with state-of-the-art technology, restored it to near-perfection.

Track Listing:

1. Intro: How Much? How Long?
2. Black Diamond
3. I Was There and The Dust Was There
4. The Great Dust Storm
5. Folk Singers and Dancers
6. Talking Dust Bowl Blues*
7. Tom Joad
8. Columbia River
9. Pastures of Plenty
10. Grand Coulee Dam
11. Told By Mother Bloor
12. 1913 Massacre
13. Quit Sending Your Inspectors
14. Goodbye Centralia
15. A Cowboy Of Some Kind
16. Dead or Alive
17. Jesus Christ Has Come!
18. Jesus Christ

Buy the album:

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central


One thought on “Woody Guthrie Live Recording to Be Released April 19 on Rounder Records”

  1. This album won a Grammy Award when first released by the Woody Guthrie Foundation. The Rounder album is its first commercial release.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *