Music Celebrities to Judge International Songwriting Competition 2009 Which Is Open to World Music Acts

ISCLogo_BlueThe 2009 edition of the International Songwriting Competition (ISC) is accepting submissions for its reputable awards. The competition includes categories that are of interest to the world music community: world music, Latin, blues and Americana. 

Drawing from the top echelon of recording artists and music industry executives, the International Songwriting Competition (ISC) has assembled its most impressive group of judges in its history. Rernowned African musicians Youssou N’Dour and Baaba Maal are two of the judges involved this year. ISC’s prestigious judges select all winners, offering an unprecedented opportunity for aspiring songwriters and musicians to have their songs heard by a panel of iconic, influential artists and industry decision-makers.

One of the largest and most respected songwriting competitions in the world, ISC gives away over $150,000 in cash and prizes to 65 winners (including a $25,000 cash Grand Prize, the largest cash Grand Prize of any songwriting competition). Amateur and professional songwriters and musicians are invited to enter their songs.

ISC offers a total of 21 categories, including: Pop/Top 40, Rock, Country, R&B/Hip-Hop, AAA (Adult Album Alternative), Folk/Singer-Songwriter, Adult Contemporary (AC), Gospel/Christian; Americana, Blues, Jazz, Latin Music, Instrumental, Dance/Electronica, Comedy/Novelty, World Music, Children’s Music, Lyrics Only, Teen, Performance, and Music Video.

The complete list of 2009 ISC judges include:

Recording Artists:

Kings of Leon; Rob Thomas (Matchbox 20); Tom Waits; Jeff Beck; Timbaland; Steve Winwood; Wynonna; Journey; Adele; Robbie Williams; Loretta Lynn; Jerry Lee Lewis; McCoy Tyner; Craig Morgan; James Mercer (The Shins); Darryl McDaniels (Run DMC); Michael W. Smith; Gary Lightbody (Snow Patrol); Chris Hillman (The Byrds); James Cotton; John Scofield; Black Francis (The Pixies); Alejandro Sanz; Toots Hibbert (Toots & The Maytals); Robert Earl Keen; Matt Thiessen (Relient K); Youssou N’Dour; John Mayall; Ray Wylie Hubbard; DJ Tiësto; "Weird Al" Yankovic; Sasha; John Digweed; Jeffrey Steele; Baaba Maal; Jeremy Camp; Mario; and Sandra Bernhard

Industry Executives:

Seymour Stein (Chairman/CEO, Sire Records); Amanda Ghost (President, Epic Records); Monte Lipman (President/CEO, Universal Republic Records); Ric Arboit (President, Nettwerk Music Group); (Amy Doyle (Sr. VP of Music and Talent, MTV); Kim Buie (VP of A&R, Lost Highway); Mitchell Cohen (VP of A&R, Verve Music Group); Brian Malouf (VP of A&R, Walt Disney Records); Rick Krim (Executive VP, Talent & Music Programming, VH1); Lisa Ramsey Perkins (Sr. Director of A&R, Sony Records Nashville); Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records); Dan Storper (President, Putumayo World Music); Steve Lillywhite (Producer – credits include U2, The Rolling Stones, Morrissey, Peter Gabriel, and more); Angel Carrasco (Sr. VP of A&R, Latin America Sony BMG and President, Discos 605); Douglas C. Cohn (Sr. VP, Music Marketing & Talent, Nickelodeon); Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment); and Dr. Demento (Radio Host of The Dr. Demento Show)

Artists may submit as many songs as desired in each category or enter the same song in more than one category. Entries are accepted online or by mail. For more information or to enter ISC, visit

ISC Sponsors: Gibson, ASCAP, Berklee College Of Music, Disc Makers, D’Addario, Shure, Thayers, George Stein, Esq., Onlinegigs,, The Music Business Registry, Tanager AudioWorks, musicSubmit, JamHub, Shari’s Berries, Independent Mastering, Indie Venue Bible, iDesign, Taxi, Sonicbids, and Alphabet Arm Design

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *