Bluegrass Supergroup Blue Highway on Tour in Support of New CD Through the Window of a Train

Blue Highway
Blue Highway
Contemporary bluegrass band Blue Highway is heading out on a string of tour dates in support of their February release, Through the Window of a Train. The album is currently the #2 album on Bluegrass Unlimited’s Top 15 Bluegrass Albums and the #4 album on Bluegrass Music Profile’s Top 10 Bluegrass CDs. The title track is also the #1 single on Bluegrass Unlimited’s Top 30 Bluegrass Songs and #3 on Bluegrass Music Profile’s Top 30 Hot Singles.

 fuses tradition with progress to create their own unique and timeless style. Through the Window of a Train, the band’s eighth album, was released on earlier this year and features 12 songs, all written or co-written by Blue Highway’s five accomplished songwriters whose songs have been recorded by bluegrass staples Ronnie Bowman, Mountain Heart, Ricky Skaggs, and others.

Through the Window of a Train showcases Blue Highway at their songwriting, instrumental, and vocal peak. With a nod to family, tradition, and travel on the album’s title track, the account of a fading cowboy on “My Ropin’ Days Are Done,” the characterizations of wars past and current on “Homeless Man” and “Two Soldiers,” and through the virtuosic picking on the instrumental “The North Cove,” Blue Highway simultaneously deliver the past, present, and future of bluegrass.

Blue Highway is: Tim Stafford (guitar, vocals), Wayne Taylor (lead vocals, bass), Shawn Lane (tenor vocals, guitar, mandolin, fiddle), Jason Burleson (banjo, guitar, mandolin, bass vocals), and Rob Ickes (Dobro, Scheerhorn acoustic slide guitar).

Tour Dates:


16 Salyersville, KY Ramey Memorial Park
31 Woodstown, NJ Delaware Valley Bluegrass Festival


6 Boone, NC High Country Bluegrass Festival
7 Knoxville, TN Tennessee Valley Fair
11 Newland, NC Avery County Fair
13 East Troy, WI East Troy Bluegrass Festival
21 Bristol, TN Rhythm & Roots
27 Denton, NC FarmPark Bluegrass Festival

Buy the CD:

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *