Montreal welcomes the Festival International Nuits D’Afrique- July 8-20 2008

Etran Finatawa
Etran Finatawa
The Festival International Nuits D’Afrique is back this summer for its 22nd year in Canada’s greatest cultural mecca from July 8-20,2008. For two weeks, the Quebecois will host the world’s greatest African musicians from the continent and Diaspora in a monumental series of indoor and outdoor performances.
The official opening concert will feature Algerian great, Idir, on July 10th at Métropolis in Saint Catherine-Est. Singing colorful melodies of love and exile, this performance is sure to set the festival into motion at an exciting pace. Named ambassador to the festival, Idir’s philosophy of “not forgetting where we come from so that we can build a better present and a better future, trying to make them as harmonious as possible,” serves as the perfect motto for this event.Spokesperson Monica Friere, a longtime Montreal resident and Brazilian singer, songwriter, composer and guitarist will use her experience on the world music scene to welcome aficionados to the festival. The lineup includes:

Seun Kuti (Nigeria)
Black Umfolosi (Zimbabwe)
Salaam (Morocco / Québec)
Pierre-Michel Ménard (Haïti / Québec)
HAJAmadagascar (Madagascar)
Menwar (Mauritius)
Shimita El Diego (Democratic Republic of Congo)
Kadan’s (Guadeloupe)
Toumany Kouyaté (Senegal)
Celso Machado (Brazil / British Columbia)
Zal Idrissa Sissokho (Senegal)
Boucar Diouf (Senegal / Québec)
Franck ESP collective and its guests (Québec)
Hedi Arquillère (France / Québec)
Dobet Gnahoré (Ivory Coast)
André-Marie Tala (Cameroon)
Fallou Dieng (Senegal)
Etran Finatawa (Niger)

For those who cant make it to the event but want to a chance to experience these legendary musicians, Festival Nuits D’Afrqiue has recently released the 10th edition of the Festival International Nuits d’Afrique compilation disc, featuring a wide range of artists including: Les Go de Kotéba, Monica Freire, Zon del Barrio, André-Marie Tala, Fallou Dieng, Dobet Gnahoré, Menwar, Hakim Salhi, Yawo, Mad’Moi Zèle Giraf, Tribo de Jah, HAJAmadagascar, James Azola and Seun Anikulapo Kuti.

For tickets and more information on the festival please visit

Author: tenayuca