World Music Nominees for 39th NAACP Image Awards

Habib Koité
Habib Koité
The 39th NAACP Image Awards will air live on Thursday, February 14 (8:00 – 10:00 PM ET/PT Tape- Delayed) on FOX. The NAACP Image Awards honors projects and individuals that promote diversity in the arts in television, recording, literature and motion pictures. The theme of this year’s show is “Stand Up and Be Counted.” During this crucial election year, the NAACP encourages everyone to be socially conscious and take a stand on critical human and civil rights issues.

Additionally, in recognition that today’s environmental crisis will become tomorrow’s civil rights issues, this year the NAACP is incorporating eco-friendly initiatives to reduce the Image Award’s carbon footprint and reduce the ceremonies impact on the world’s climate.

This year, over 1,200 entries were received. From those entries, a special committee of 300 industry professionals and NAACP leaders from across the country selected five nominees in each of 44 categories. Any artist, manager, publicist, production company, record label, studio, network or publishing house could submit an entry to the NAACP Image Awards. The final selections are voted on by NAACP members, and winners will be announced during the live airing of the 39th NAACP Image Awards.

Recording categories:

Outstanding World Music Album

Outstanding New Artist

  • Chrisette Michele (Island Def Jam)
  • Corbin Bleu (Walt Disney Records)
  • J. Holiday (Capitol)
  • Jordin Sparks (Jive/Zomba)
  • Sean Kingston (Sony)

Outstanding Male Artist

  • Chris Brown (Jive)
  • Common (Geffen)
  • Kanye West (Island Def Jam)
  • Prince (Columbia Records)
  • Seal (Warner Bros. Records)

Outstanding Female Artist

  • Alicia Keys (J Records)
  • Aretha Franklin (Arista Records/Sony BMG)
  • Beyoncé (Columbia Records)
  • Jill Scott (Hidden Beach Recordings)
  • Mary J. Blige (Geffen)

Outstanding Duo or Group

  • Aretha Franklin (feat. Fantasia) (Arista Records/Sony BMG)
  • Bow Wow & Omarion (Columbia Records)
  • Eddie & Gerald Levert (Atlantic)
  • Sounds of Blackness (Sounds of Blackness Records)
  • Stephen Marley & Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley (Universal Republic)

Outstanding Jazz Artist

  • Dee Dee Bridgewater (DDB Records (UMG))
  • Herbie Hancock (Verve)
  • Kirk Whalum (Rendezvous Entertainment)
  • Patti Austin (Rendezvous Entertainment)
  • Randy Crawford & Joe Sample (PRA Records)

Outstanding Gospel Artist – (Traditional or Contemporary)

  • Kirk Franklin (Gospocentric)
  • Marvin Winans (Pure Springs/EMI Gospel)
  • Mavis Staples (Epitaph)
  • Sounds of Blackness (Sounds of Blackness Records)
  • Yolanda Adams (Columbia Records)

Outstanding Music Video

  • “Beautiful Liar” – Beyoncé and Shakira (Columbia Records)
  • “Just Fine” – Mary J. Blige (Geffen)
  • “Like You’ll Never See Me Again” – Alicia Keys (J Records)
  • “Show Me” – John Legend (Columbia Records)
  • “Stronger” – Kanye West (Island Def Jam)

Outstanding Song

  • “Beautiful Flower” – India Arie (Universal Republic)
  • “Just Fine” – Mary J. Blige (Geffen)
  • “Like You’ll Never See Me Again” – Alicia Keys (J Records)
  • “Stronger” – Kanye West (Island Def Jam)
  • “Umbrella” – Rihanna feat. Jay-Z (Island Def Jam)

Outstanding Album

Founded in 1909, the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) is the nation’s oldest and largest civil rights organization. Its half-million adult and youth members throughout the United States and the world are the premier advocates for civil rights in their communities and monitor equal opportunity in the public and private sectors.

FedEx is returning this year as a major sponsor of The 39th NAACP Image Awards. Additional sponsors include American Airlines, Allstate Insurance Company, Best Buy, Chevrolet, Ford Motor Company, Sprint, Wachovia Corporation, and Diageo.

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central