Rounder Records Releases City of Dreams Boxed Set: A Collection of New Orleans Music

Burlington (Massachusetts), USA – Rounder Records announced the release of City of Dreams: A Collection of New Orleans Music. Due October 9, this comprehensive four-disc set is a definitive overview of Rounder’s New Orleans catalogue, featuring such iconic Crescent City names as Irma Thomas, Professor Longhair, and the Dirty Dozen Brass Band, as well as lesser-known but equally exciting artists such as Chuck Carbo and Eddie Bo.

The musicians of New Orleans – second line brass bands, rhythm & blues singers, Mardi Gras Indians, piano players – are as eclectic as the city itself. City of Dreams: A Collection of New Orleans Music looks into every corner of the New Orleans musical landscape, always funky, rollicking and soulful.

The City of Dreams set is divided into four separate themes: Disc One: Big Easy Blues, Disc Two: Street Beat, Disc Three: Funky New Orleans, and Disc Four: Ivory Emperors.
 Track Listing:
 Disc One: Big Easy Blues
 1. Al Johnson “Carnival Time”
 2. Marcia Ball, Irma Thomas, and Tracy Nelson “Sing It”
 3. Chuck Carbo “Drawers Trouble”
 4. Johnny Adams “Just Because”
 5. Irma Thomas “Don’t Mess With My Man”
 6. Eddie Bo “Check Mr. Popeye”
 7. Joe Jones “You Talk Too Much”
 8. Marcia Ball “Big Shot”
 9. Davell Crawford “I Bowed on My Knees”
 10. Ramsey McLean & the Survivors with Charmaine Neville “Drink Jax Beer”
 11. Ruth Brown “Go On Fool”
 12. Clarence Gatemouth Brown “Dollar Got the Blues”
 Disc Two: Street Beat
 1. ReBirth Brass Band “Feel Like Funkin’ It Up”
 2. Monk Boudreaux and the Golden Eagles “Sew, Sew, Sew”
 3. Professor Longhair “Cuttin’ Out”
 4. Bo Dollis and Monk Boudreaux with ReBirth Brass Band “Shoo-Fly”
 5. New Orleans Nightcrawlers “Royal Flush”
 6. Dirty Dozen Brass Band “It Ain’t What You Think”
 7. All That “T. Chapman”
 8. Dejan’s Olympia Brass Band “No It Ain’t My Fault”
 9. Bo Dollis and the Wild Magnolias “Golden Crown”
 10. Chosen Few Brass Band “St. Louis Blues”
 11. Alvin “Red” Tyler “If My Shoes Hold Out”
 12. ReBirth Brass Band “Just a Little While to Stay Here”
 Disc Three: Funky New Orleans
 1. Walter “Wolfman” Washington “You Can Stay But The Noise Must Go”
 2. Theryl Houseman de’Clouet “Ain’t No Yachts in the Ghetto”
 3. George Porter, Jr. of the Meters “Rough Spots”
 4. All That “Flow On”
 5. Ed Frank Quintet “A Corn for Crip”
 6. Bo Dollis & Willie Tee with Dr. John “Keeper Of The Crown”
 7. Johnny Adams “Body and Fender Man”
 8. New Orleans Saxophone Ensemble “Gemini Rising”
 9. Irma Thomas “Sweet Touch of Love”
 10. Solomon Burke “Here We Go Again”
 11. Walter “Wolfman” Washington “Funk Yard”
 12. Davell Crawford “House That Jack Built”
 Disc Four: Ivory Emperors
 1. Eddie Bo “Hard Times”
 2. James Booker “Classified”
 3. Professor Longhair “Every Day, Every Night”
 4. David Torkanowksy “Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most”
 5. Tuts Washington “Tee Nah Nah”
 6. Willie Tee “On the Q-Tee”
 7. Davell Crawford “Gumbo Piano”
 8. James Booker “All By Myself”
 9. Art Neville “My Children”
 10. Champion Jack Dupree “I Don’t Know”
 11. Professor Longhair “Go to the Mardi Gras”
 12. Tuts Washington “Do You Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans”
 Buy City of Dreams.

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central