All-Star Jam in a Musical Tribute to New Orleans and Southern Soul at 48th Annual Grammy Awards

Allen Toussaint
Allen Toussaint

Santa Mónica (California), USA – The sights and sounds of southern soul music from the United States will be celebrated by an all-star cast of performers who will pay tribute to New Orleans on the 48th Annual GRAMMY Awards, The Recording Academy announced February 7th. This special segment will include artists from various musical genres, including New Orleans’ own local legends Allen Toussaint, Dr. John and “Soul Queen of New Orleans” Irma Thomas; rockers Elvis Costello, Bonnie Raitt, Bruce Springsteen, and U2’s The Edge; and soul singer Sam Moore.Our Academy represents thousands of music people across the country, many of whom were directly affected by the New Orleans tragedy,” said Neil Portnow, President of The Recording Academy. “Music’s Biggest Night wouldn’t be complete if we didn’t take this unique opportunity to pay homage to a region with such rich musical history and culture. New Orleans, we’ll always be there for you.”

Additionally, singer/songwriters Fiona Apple, Sheryl Crow and Sting, all of whom are previous GRAMMY Award winners, have been announced as presenters.

These artists join previously announced performers Mariah Carey, John Legend and Kanye West — all with eight nominations each; Madonna with Gorillaz; Paul
McCartney; Kelly Clarkson (who also is an honorary member of The Academy’s What’s The Download® Board); Bruce Springsteen; U2 and Mary J. Blige; Coldplay; Faith Hill and Keith Urban; Christina Aguilera and Herbie Hancock; Jay-Z with Linkin Park; Jamie Foxx with Kanye West; Sugarland; an all-star tribute to Sly And The Family Stone featuring Maroon 5, Will.I.Am of The Black Eyed Peas, Robert Randolph, Steven Tyler and Joe Perry of Aerosmith, Joss Stone, John Legend, Ciara and Devin Lima; and nominee Hezekiah Walker & Love Fellowship Choir join Mariah Carey. Previously announced presenters include Big & Rich, Chris Brown, Michael Bublé, Dave Chappelle, Common (who also is an honorary What’s The Download Board member), Destiny’s Child, Matt Dillon, Jenna Elfman, Tom Hanks, Teri Hatcher, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Terrence Howard, Alicia Keys, Queen Latifah, Ludacris, Bonnie Raitt, and James Taylor.

Hosting the GRAMMY Pre-Telecast ceremony are revered rock guitarist Steve Vai and TV personality Giselle Fernandez; presenters for the Pre-Telecast include
nominees Jars Of Clay, Shirley Caesar, Nnenna Freelon, Delbert McClinton; and K-Mozart radio personality and conductor/composer John Santana. Michael Bublé and  Anoushka Shankar will be featured in a performance during the Pre-Telecast as well.

The GRAMMY Awards — the American music industry’s premier event — will take place on Wednesday, Feb. 8, at STAPLES Center in Los Angeles and will be
broadcast in HDTV and 5.1 surround sound on the CBS Television Network at 8 p.m. (ET/PT). The show also will be supported on radio via Westwood One worldwide, and covered online at

The 48th Annual GRAMMY Awards are produced by John Cossette Productions in association with Ken Ehrlich Productions for The Recording Academy. John
Cossette and Ken Ehrlich are executive producers, Walter C. Miller is producer/director, Tisha Fein is the coordinating producer, and Tzvi Small is executive in charge of production.

Established in 1957, the National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences, Inc., also known as The Recording Academy, is an organization of musicians, producers,
engineers and recording professionals that is dedicated to improving the cultural condition and quality of life for music and its makers. Internationally known for the GRAMMY Awards, The Recording Academy is responsible for groundbreaking professional development, cultural enrichment, advocacy, education and human services programs — including the creation of the national public education campaign What’s The Download. For more information, visit

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central