The Samba of Roda and the Ramlila proclaimed Masterpieces of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity

Paris, France – The Director-General of UNESCO, Koichiro
Matsuura, proclaimed in November 43 new Masterpieces of the Oral and Intangible
Heritages of Humanity. Traditional Indian performances of the Ramayana, the
Ramlila, Japan’s Kabuki theatre, the Zambian Makishi Masquarade and the Samba of
Roda (Brazil) are among the masterpieces proclaimed.

This is UNESCO’s third proclamation of Masterpieces of the Oral and Intangible
Heritage, an international distinction destined to raise public awareness of the
value of this heritage, which includes popular and traditional oral forms of
expression, music and dance, rituals and mythologies, knowledge and practices
concerning the universe, know-how linked to traditional crafts, as well as
cultural spaces. Often vulnerable, this heritage, a repository of cultural
diversity, is essential to the identity of communities and peoples.The 43 masterpieces proclaimed this year are:

– Albanian folk iso-polyphony (Albania)
– Ahellil of Gourara (Algeria)
– Duduk Music (Armenia)
– Baul songs (Bangladesh)
– Processional giants and dragons in Belgium and France (Belgium and France)
– The mask dance of the drums from Drametse (Bhutan)
– Samba of Roda from Recôncavo Baiano (Brazil)
– The Bistritsa Babi (grandmothers of Bistritsa) – Archaic polyphony, dances and
ritual practices from the Shoplouk region (Bulgaria)
– Sbek Thom, Khmer shadow theatre (Cambodia)
– The Art of Chinese Xinjiang Uyghur Muqam (China)
– The cultural space of Palenque de San Basilio (Colombia)
– Oxherding and oxcart tradition in Costa Rica (Costa Rica)
– Slovácko Verbuňk, Dance of recruits (Czech Republic)
– Cocolo dancing drama tradition (Dominican Republic)
– Rabinal Achí Ballet (Guatemala)
– Ramlila: the traditional performance of the Ramayana (India)
– Indonesian Kris (Indonesia)
– The A Tenore Song of the Sardinian pastoral culture (Italy)
– Kabuki (Japan)
– The cultural space of the Bedu in Petra and Wadi Rum (Jordan)
– Vimbuza Healing Dance (Malawi)
– Gule Wamkulu (Malawi, Mozambique and Zambia)
– Mak Yong (Malaysia)
– The cultural space of the Yaaral and Degal (Mali)
– Urtiin Duu – Mongolian traditional folk Long Song (Mongolia and China)
– The Moussem of Tan-Tan (Morocco)
– Chopi Timbila (Mozambique)
– El Güegüense (Nicaragua)
– Ifa Divination system in Nigeria (Nigeria)
– The Palestinian Hikaye (submitted by Alecso)
– Taquile and its textile art (Peru)
– Darangen Epic of the Maranao People of Lake Lanao (Philippines)
– Gangneung Danoje Festival (Republic of Korea)
– The Căluş (Romania)
– Yakut Heroic Epos – Olonkho (Russian Federation)
– The Kankurang, or Manding initiatory rite (Senegal and Gambia)
– Fujara – Musical instrument and its music (Slovakia)
– The Patum of Berga (Spain)
– The Mevlevi Sema Ceremony (Turkey)
– Bark cloth making in Uganda (Uganda)
– The space of Gong culture in the Central Highland of Vietnam (Vietnam)
– The Makishi Masquerade (Zambia)
– Mbende/Jerusarema dance (Zimbabwe)

The 43 new masterpieces were proposed to the Director-General by an 18-member
jury chaired by Princess Basma Bint Talal of Jordan. The jury met from 20 to 24
November to examine 64 national and multinational candidatures. A total of 47
masterpieces were proclaimed in 2001 and 2003. Twenty-seven of them have already
benefited from UNESCO’s support, particularly from safeguarding operations which
received financial assistance from Japan.

This third proclamation will probably be the last. In 2003, UNESCO’s General
Conference adopted the Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible
Cultural Heritage. It stipulates that a Representative List of the Intangible
Cultural Heritage of Humanity be created, alongside a List of Intangible
Cultural Heritage in Need of Urgent Safeguarding. The Convention will enter into
force shortly, once 30 States have deposited their instruments of ratification,
acceptance, approval or accession, which has already been done 26 States. The
masterpieces from States Parties to the Convention that were proclaimed by
UNESCO since 2001 will feature in the Representative List of the Intangible
Cultural Heritage of Humanity so as to ensure their continued safeguard.

At the opening of the jury meeting, on 21 November, the Director-General of
UNESCO declared: “We must not consider this phase as a last step, but rather
as a moment of birth. In fact, the considerable experience accumulated over the
last six years in terms of the methodology of identification and selection of
masterpieces, and also in terms of concrete lessons drawn from ongoing
safeguarding plans constitutes the irreplaceable matrix that will be of precious
utility in implementing the Convention
.” Recalling that the number of
candidatures received rose from 32 in 2001 to 56 in 2003, and 64 in 2005, Mr
Matsuura added: “These figures bear witness to the interest and the growing
involvement of States in the safeguarding of their intangible cultural heritage

[Koichiro Matsuura, Director-General of UNESCO. Photographer: Danica Bijeljac

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central