International Songwriting Competition (ISC) Deadline Extended For Two Weeks

Nashville (Tennessee), USA – The International Songwriting Competition has
extended its submission deadline for two weeks. All entries must be posted on or
before October 31, 2005. ISC will continue to take online entries, as well as
entries through the mail; the online submission platform will be open until
11:59 p.m. EST, October 31. After this date, there will be no further
extensions. To enter or for more information, go to:

TheISC includes a world music category.

, an artist from Madagascar, now based in London (England), won in
the world music category in 2005. ISC 2005 entrants will have the opportunity to have their songs heard by a
judging panel that includes some of the most high-profile members of the
music industry – including presidents of ten record labels (Universal, Capitol
Music UK, ATO Records, New West Records, Concord Records, Alligator
Records, and more) and esteemed artists such as Loretta Lynn, Sonny Rollins, Tom
Waits, Amy Ray (Indigo Girls), Steve Vai, Darryl McDaniels
(RUN DMC) andmany more.

Over $150,000 in cash and prizes will be awarded to 50 winners, including an
Overall Grand Prize package of $10,000 (US) in cash and $20,000 in

All online entrants will receive a complimentary 6-month membership to Sonicbids.
In addition, all 2005 ISC entrants will receive a
Online Self-Paced Course ($39.95 value) and a Jukebox Alive full-membership for
3 months ($15 value) – free!

2005 Sponsors: Disc Makers, Epiphone, ASCAP, Berklee College Of Music, L.R.
Baggs, Alphabet Arm Design, FYE, Fishman Tranducers, Planetary Group, ADK
Microphones, Moog Music, Hear Technologies, Music Registry, Mediaguide,
ArtistMonitor, Sam Ash Music Stores, Sibelius,, MusiciansAtlas
and Sonicbids.

ISC judges include: Tom Waits; Loretta Lynn; Sonny Rollins; John Scofield; Steve
Vai; Macy Gray; Joss Stone; MercyMe; Amy Ray (Indigo Girls); Darryl
McDaniels (Run D.M.C.); LeAnn Rimes; Isaac Brock (Modest Mouse); Jeff Stinco
(Simple Plan); BeBe Winans; Peter Hook (New Order); Benji Madden
(Good Charlotte); Charlie Musselwhite; The Donnas; Monte Lipman (President,
Universal Records); Keith Wozencroft (President, Capitol Music UK); Glen
Barros (CEO/President, Concord Records); Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President,
Alligator Records); Cameron Strang (President, New West Records); Dan
Storper (President, Putumayo World Music); Michael McDonald (President, ATO
Records); Alexandra Patsavas (Owner, The Chop Shop Music Supervision – credits
include The OC, Grey’s Anatomy, Without A Trace, Carnivale, Rescue Me ); Darrale
Jones (VP A&R Urban, Atlantic Records); Chris Parr (VP Music Programming & Talent Relations, CMT); Barbara Sedun (VP Creative, EMI Music Publishing
Canada); Tara Griggs-Magee (Executive VP of Gospel/Urban Music, Sony Records);
Leib Ostrow (CEO, Music For Little People), Thomas Brooman (Co-Founder/Artistic
Director, WOMAD); Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment); Emily
Wittmann (Vice-President, Nick Records); Patrick Moxey (President, Ultra
Records/You Records/Sequence Records/Escondida Music/Empire Mgmt.) and Danny
Epstein (Music Supervisor, Sesame Street/Sesame Workshop).

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central