Vieux Farka Toure On Summer 2011 Tour

Vieux Farka Toure
Vieux Farka Touré will be returning to the US for a Summer Tour not to be missed. His third studio album, The Secret, continues to receive rave reviews. His live shows have been paired down to a power trio consisting of Vieux on vocals/guitar, Mamadou Sidibe on bass, and drummer/multi-percussionist Tim Keiper rounding out the lineup.

Guest musicians on The Secret include Dave Matthews, Derek Trucks from the Allman Brothers Band, jazz master John Scofield and Ivan Neville on organ and Eric Herman on bass. Rounding out The Secret’s sound are a whole host of musicians like Ali Magassa on rhythm guitar, Souleymane Kane on calabash and djembe, Tim Keiper on drums and pandeiro, Mamadou Sidibe on bass, Ganda Tounkara on ngoni, Adama Goussibe on djembe and others.

Tour Dates

Wed 8/17/11
Jazz Festival of Sa Pobla
Mallorca, Spain

Fri 8/19/11
Bidasoa Folk Fest
Bidasoa, Spain

Wed 8/24/11
Brighton Music Hall
Cambridge, MA

Thu 8/25/11
Iron Horse
Northampton, MA

Fri 8/26/11
South Island Field
New York, NY

Sat 8/27/11
The Rotunda
Philadelphia, PA

Tue 8/30/11
9:30 Club
Washington, DC

Tue 8/30/11
9:30 Club
Washington, DC

Thu 9/1/11
Local 506
Chapel Hill, NC

Fri 9/2/11
Orange Peel
Asheville, NC

Sat 9/3/11
Riverfront Nights
Chatanooga, TN

Sun 9/4/11
Georgia Theatre
Athens, GA

Mon 9/5/11
Calvin College
Grand Rapids, MI

Wed 9/7/11
SPACE
Evanston, IL

Thu 9/8/11
Elinora Jazz Festival at Krannert
Urbana, IL

Sun 9/11/11
Cedar Cultural Center
Minneapolis, MN

Recordings available:

Share

One thought on “Vieux Farka Toure On Summer 2011 Tour”

  1. Please, please, come to Canada, Vieux!

    Don’t miss any of these shows you can make. He is a slice of Mali ..Sonhai to Mande.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 × 1 =