International Songwriting Competition Announces 2006 Judges

Nashville (Tennessee), USA – The International Songwriting
Competition (ISC) is now accepting entries for 2006. One of the largest
songwriting competitions in the world, ISC offers entrants a chance to share in
over $150,000 in cash and prizes, including an Overall Grand Prize package of
$25,000 (US) in cash and over $20,000 in merchandise, unmatched by any other
songwriting competition. ISC winners benefit from extensive press and publicity,
gaining exposure and recognition from an international music market of industry
professionals and fans.

ISC is unique because of its judges. Since its inception, ISC has become
internationally renowned for having the most prestigious judging panel of any
songwriting competition in the world, offering entrants the unprecedented
opportunity to have their songs heard by the industry’s top recording artists
and influential music executives. Tom Waits, Brian Wilson, Sean Paul, Robert
Smith (The Cure), Craig Morgan, and Cassandra Wilson are among this year’s
celebrity and music executive judges

ISC is open to musicians, artists, and songwriters at every level from amateur
to professional. Artists may submit as many songs as desired in each category or
enter the same song in more than one category.

Entries are accepted online or by mail. For more information or to enter ISC
2006, please visit
. The deadline for submission is October 16,

ISC offers 18 different categories to enter: Pop/Top 40, AAA (Adult Album
Alternative), Rock, Country, Americana, R&B/Hip-Hop, Blues,
Folk/Singer-Songwriter, Jazz, Gospel/Christian, Latin Music, Instrumental,
Dance/Electronica, World Music, Children’s Music, Lyrics Only, Teen, and

The ISC 2006 judging panel includes:

Tom Waits; Brian Wilson; Sean Paul; Charlie Walk (President, Epic Records);
Monte Lipman (President, Universal Records); Mona Scott-Young (President,
Violator Records); Jerry Lee Lewis; Cassandra Wilson; Robert Smith (The Cure);
Craig Morgan; Rosanne Cash; John Mayall; Isaac Brock (Modest Mouse); John
Scofield; Mark Chesnutt; Amy Ray (Indigo Girls); Darryl McDaniels (Run DMC);
MercyMe; Macy Gray; Tiësto; Peter Hook (New Order); Frank Black (Pixies); Jeff
Stinco (Simple Plan); Medeski Martin & Wood; Charlie Musselwhite; Blue Man
Group; Steve Lillywhite (Senior VP A&R/Producer, Columbia Records – credits
include U2, Rolling Stones, Peter Gabriel, etc.); Angel Carrasco (President,
Discos 605/Sr. VP A&R Sony/BMG Latin America; Larry Willoughby (VP A&R, Capitol
Records, Nashville); Alexandra Patsavas (Owner, The Chop Shop Music Supervision
– credits include The OC, Grey’s Anatomy, Without A Trace, Carnivale, Rescue
Me); Barbara Sedun (VP Creative, EMI Music Publishing Canada); Bruce Iglauer
(Founder/President, Alligator Records); Cameron Strang (President, New West
Records); Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment); Dan Storper
(President, Putumayo World Music); Thomas Brooman (Co-Founder/Artistic Director,
WOMAD); Danny Epstein (Music Supervisor, Sesame Street/Sesame Workshop); Tara
Griggs-Magee (Executive VP Gospel/Urban Music, Sony Records); Emily Wittmann
(Vice-President, Nick Records); Leib Ostrow (CEO, Music For Little People);
Betty Pino (DJ, WAMR and pioneer of Latin musc radio); and Manolo Gonzales
(Senior VP, Regional Mexican A&R and National Promotion, Univision Records).

ISC 2006 sponsors include ASCAP, Epiphone, Berklee College Of Music, D’Addario,
Shure, Fishman, Sam Ash, Cakewalk, Hear Technologies, Disc Makers, Sonicbids,
Musician’s Atlas, Sibelius, Planetary Group, OnlineGigs, The Music Business
Registry, Mediaguide, ArtistMonitor, George Stein, Esq., Alphabet Arm Design,
and Taxi.

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central