Reggae Sunsplash Returns to Tour the U.S.A. with a Hot Ticket

After nearly a decade hiatus, the Reggae Sunsplash festival is back, bigger than ever, and
set to tour the U.S.A. this summer. Continuing its motto of “Uniting The World
Through Music,” the impressive line-up includes both legends and newcomers:
Toots &
The Maytals
Rik Rok. It kicks off August 10, 2006, in West Palm
Beach (Florida) running through Labor Day (September 4).

According to tour co-producer TJ Johnson, son of the late founder Tony Johnson,
We are here to celebrate the great sounds from the Island of Jamaica and
honor the memory of my dad’s efforts in bringing the music and message to people
of all races, creeds and color
.” Adding, “Sunsplash has always been about
spreading the message of one-love, peace and harmony – and now that will

This year’s tour is being co-produced by the Johnson family and Toby Ludwig of
21st Century Artists, Inc. Ludwig was Johnson’s agent at William Morris and
worked closely with him for many years thereafter.

The late Johnson, who was born in Jamaica, and schooled at UCLA, raised his
family in Southern California. He returned to the Caribbean Island in 1978 to
produce Reggae Sunsplash and brought mini versions of the multi day
mega-festival to cities globally – until his untimely passing nine years ago.

Said Chris Blackwell, founder of Island Records, “Tony was a great pioneer
in bringing reggae music to the rest of the world

Now, the artists themselves have rallied behind the new spirit and energy
carried on by the Johnson family.

As in the past, the festival will be hosted by the voice of Reggae Sunsplash,
Tommy “Yes Indeed!” Cowan. And, the Sunsplash experience will be rounded out by
Jamaican food and crafts fairs, selling everything from “jerk” chicken to
intricate wood carvings and hand crafted clothes. Says Cowan, “The feel and
flavor of the Caribbean Island of Jamaica shall engulf us all

Thu Aug. 10 – West Palm Beach, Florida, Sound Advice Amphitheatre
Fri Aug. 11 – Tampa, Florida, Ford Amphitheatre
Sat Aug. 12 – Cocoa Beach Pier, Florida, The Cocoa Beach Pier
Tue Aug. 15 – Bristow, Virginia, Nissan Pavilion at Stone Ridge
Thu Aug. 17 – Westbury, New York, North Fork Theater
Sat Aug. 19 – Boston, Massachusetts, Bank of America Pavilion
Sun Aug. 20 – Atlantic City, Nnew Jeresey, Hilton – Atlantic City
Tue Aug. 22 – Clarkston, Michigan, DTE Energy Music Theater
Wed Aug. 23 – Cleveland, Ohio, Tower City Amphitheater
Fri Aug. 25 – Austin, Texas, The Backyard
Sat Aug. 26 – Spring, Texas, The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion
Mon Aug. 28 – Albuquerque, New Mexico, Journal Pavilion
Wed Aug. 30 – Alpine, California, Viejas Concerts In the Park
Thu Aug. 31 – Kelseyville, California, Konocti Harbor Resort & Spa
Sat Sept. 2 – Irvine, California, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre
Sun Sept. 3 – Las Vegas, Nevada, Mandalay Bay Beach
Mon Sept. 4 – West Valley City, Utah, Usana Amphitheatre

Ticket information: