Renowned Coro Nacional de Cuba Tours Canada

Toronto (Ontario), Canada – The Coro Nacional de Cuba, the 40-voice
professional choir under the direction of Maestra
Digna Guerra, will visit 12 cities in Ontario and British Columbia from
October 19 to November 3, 2005.

The choir will perform a completely a cappella program combining sacred and
secular music, largely by Cuban and Latin American composers. In Vancouver, they
will be presented in a joint recital with the celebrated Vancouver Chamber
Choir. The choir’s Canadian debut will take place Wednesday October 19 in the
glorious acoustics of Our Lady of La Salette
Church as part of the premier Norfolk Fall Festival.The inaugural Canadian tour of the Coro Nacional de Cuba is made possible
through a generous grant from the Canada
Council for the Arts, as well as support for a number of British Columbia
concerts from Festival Vancouver.

The Coro Nacional de Cuba, which evolved from the Choir of the Rebel Army
founded by Ernesto “Che” Guevara in 1959, is renowned throughout Cuba and Europe
for its mastery of all musical genres- classical, jazz, folk and all of the
Cuban pop styles. In a land which exudes music, and has no fewer than 18
professional choirs, this choir has been acclaimed the

Wednesday October 19
Norfolk Fall Festival –
LaSalette/Simcoe, ON

Friday October 21
Perth Concert Association – Perth, ON

Saturday October 22
Port Hope Friends of Music – Pt. Hope

Sunday October 23
Rosedale United Church – Toronto, ON

Tuesday October 25
Okanagan Similkameen Concerts –
Penticton, B.C.

Wednesday October 26
Abbotsford Concert Association
Abbotsford, B.C.

Friday October 28
White Rock Concerts – White Rock, B.C.

Saturday October 29
Vancouver Chamber Choir –
Vancouver, B.C.

Sunday October 30
The Port Theatre – Nanaimo, B.C.

Monday October 31
Kelowna Community Concerts –
Kelowna, B.C.

Tuesday November 1
rail Society for Performing Arts
Trail, B.C.

Thursday November 3
N. Okanagan Community Concerts –
Vernon, B.C.