Adventure Music Signs Renowned Pianist Jovino Santos Neto

Adventure Music has announced that the acclaimed Brazilian pianist
Jovino Santos Neto has been formally signed to the label, and has just
completed recording an as-yet untitled CD for release in early 2006. The
new CD is Santos Neto’s first recording as a leader since 2003’s Canto
de Rio.

The upcoming release captures Santos Neto in a trio setting, where he is
joined by Rogerio Botter-Maio, who also contributed to Weber Iago’s
recent Adventure Music release, On Filhos de Vento, on bass and Marcio
Bahia, one of Brazil’s most in-demand session players, on drums. On the
CD, which features a collection of never recorded, mostly original
tunes, pianist Santos Neto also plays flute and melodica. Special guests
on the project include vocalist Joyce, Hamilton de Holanda on mandolin,
Marcos Amorim on guitar, and Gabriel Grossi on harmonica. In addition to
acclaimed multi-instrumentalist

Hermeto Pascoal
, for whom Santo Neto has
served as pianist and musical director for 15 years and counting
Hermeto’s son Fabio, can be heard on percussion.“Adventure Music is delighted to be working formally with our friend
Jovino, whom we consider to be one of the most talented, creative and
prolific Brazilian artists living here in the States
,” says label
president and co-founder Richard Zirinsky, Jr. “Personally, I am
extremely excited about this new project and the many new compositions
Jovino has selected and recorded. Not only will this project feature
Jovino in a mostly trio setting, which is a unique format for him, but
it will also highlight the instrumental work of some of Brazil’s most
wonderful players and of course, the amazing vocals of Joyce

Santos Neto first recorded for Adventure Music on

, the 2003
collaboration with label co-founder mandolinist Mike Marshall. That CD,
a collection of the music of Hermeto Pascoal, also featured Pascoal on
flute and melodica. Marshall and Santos Neto’s first actual recorded
collaboration was on

Brazil Duets
, the long-out-of-print 1994 recording
that has just been re-released by Adventure Music with three all new
bonus tracks.

Author: World Music Central News Department

World music news from the editors at World Music Central