Habib Koité Presents a Double Live CD and Begins Tour

Habib Koité - Foly! Live Around the World
Habib Koité – Foly! Live Around the World
Bloomington, USA – Malian star, Habib Koité, has a brand new double CD, Foly! Live Around the World recorded live. The CD is to be released on January 13 and features Habib live in concert around the world with the all-star outfit Bamada backing him up on extended and reworked versions of many of his most popular songs.

Habib is known for his unique approach to playing the guitar. He tunes his instrument to the pentatonic scale and plays on open strings as one would on a kamale n’goni. Unlike the jelis (also known as griots), his singing style is restrained and intimate with varying cadenced rhythms and melodies.

Tour dates:

01/29/2004, Thu
Great American Music Hall, San Francisco, CA

01/30/2004, Fri
Community Center, Sebastopol, CA,

01/31/2004, Sat
Rio Theatre, Santa Cruz, CA,

02/01/2004, Sun
Conga Room,
Los Angeles, CA,

02/03/2004, Tue
Campbell Hall, Santa Barbara, CA,

02/04/2004, Wed
Cerritos Center, Cerritos, CA,

02/07/2004, Sat
Stewart Theatre, Raleigh, NC,

02/10/2004, Tue
McCarter
Theatre
, Princeton, NJ,

02/11/2004, Wed
Gilbert Grosvenor Auditorium, Washington, DC,

02/13/2004, Fri Cummings Arts Center, New London, CT

02/15/2004, Sun
Somerville Theatre, Somerville, MA

02/16/2004, Mon
Iron Horse Northhampton, MA

02/17/2004, Tue
Annenburg Center, Philadelphia, PA

02/19/2004, Thu Finney Chapel, Oberlin, OH

02/20/2004, Fri
, Chicago, IL

02/21/2004, Sat
Stephen B. Humphrey Theater, Collegeville, MN

02/22/2004, Sun
Cedar Cultural Center, Minneapolis, MN

02/24/2004, Tue
The Ark, Ann Arbor, MI

02/27/2004, Fri
Bomhard Theatre, Louisville, KY

Buy Foly! Live Around the World

Author: Angel Romero

Angel Romero y Ruiz has been writing about world music and progressive music for many years. He founded the websites worldmusiccentral.org and musicasdelmundo.com. Angel produced several specials for Metropolis (TVE) and co-produced “Musica NA”, a music show for Televisión Española (TVE) in Spain that featured an eclectic mix of world music, fusion, electronica, new age and contemporary classical music. Angel also produced and remastered world music and electronic music albums, compilations and boxed sets for Alula Records, Ellipsis Arts, Music of the World, Lektronic Soundscapes, and Mindchild Records. Angel is currently based in Durham, North Carolina.

Share